Would you like to know everything about the planets of the solar system? Have you ever wondered how it feels to travel to space? Or maybe you would like to know if in the future you could live on other planets. The greatest desire of man has been to know space, and it has only been possible through study.

The Milky Way is the largest you can imagine and the solar system only represents the so-called inner space. There are many things that have not been discovered yet, but there are some curious facts that you will never forget.

The planets of the solar system were nine until it was degraded to Pluto. Each planet has its own composition, although some are very similar. In this post you will know some wonderful things that have been discovered about the solar system and its planets.

How is the solar system made up?

The solar system is a part of the Milky Way and is located in what we call Orion Arm. The Sun represents at least the 99% of the total mass of the system that is why it is called the Solar System.

They are 8 planets that orbit around the sun accompanied by other satellites, becoming the only protagonists, after the sun obviously. Without forgetting the presence of Star dust and interstellar gas, among other phenomena.

To simplify the study of the solar system, astronomical scientists have classified it into the following three categories:

First the planets: In this category are the 8 planets that make up the Solar System. Which I mentioned earlier.

Second the dwarf planets: It is about the celestial bodies that do not have enough mass, but that also orbit around the sun. Among them are Pluto, Eris, Haumea and Ceres.

Third the minor bodies: group all the remaining objects that orbit around the Sun like the asteroid belt. Including the different asteroids of amorphous shapes, frozen comets and the cosmic dust that complements the Solar System.

How were the planets formed?

Like the sun, the formation of the planets began some 4.600 million years. When there was a cloud of gas and dust, which constantly rotated and helped the heavier materials to move away from the sun.

La severity and collisions They helped to form denser areas where the movement was rounding these materials. With the passing of the years, the strength of each planet was defined and today they continue to adjust.

Surely you could not imagine life without splendid moon, which is a satellite orbiting around the earth. Satellites have also been adjusting in the solar system mainly around large planets.

What are the planets of the solar system?

Before knowing them you must know that the planets are celestial bodies that are visible when they are illuminated by the sun. Its name comes from the Greek errabundo, since, without choosing a fixed place they go from one place to another.

Within the solar system we find the following planets, which you will briefly know:

1. Mercury

It is the planet closest to the Sun, like Earth, is composed mainly of metal elements. It is the smallest of the planets and has numerous meteorite impacts just like the moon.

2. Venus

  • This planet is still more like the earth, so much so that you could say they are brothers. Although it is a little closer to the sun, which raises its temperature.

3 land

Our planet, is the largest of the rocky, but with a constitution mostly water. The existence of this vital liquid it is what makes it possible to live in it.

4. Mars

The so-called red planet, color obtained by the large amounts of iron oxide. It is half the size of the earth and less severe. An attempt has been made to look for life in it, but in recent studies it has been determined that it is uninhabitable.

5 Jupiter

It is the largest celestial body in the solar system, after the Sun. It is considered the oldest in the system. Its composition is gas, mainly ice and hydrogen.

6 Saturn

In 1610 it was first seen by Galileo due to its great brightness. Is hydrogen almost entirely, and its brightness is a consequence of the rings that surround it.

7. Uranus

He is the brother of Jupiter and Saturn for having a gaseous composition and was the first planet seen by telescope. Have the lowest temperatures of all the planets of the solar system.

8. Neptune

Discovered in 1847 by Urbain Le Verrier, John Couch and Johann Galle, although it is supposed to have been seen by Galileo in 1612. It is composed of molten rock, water, ice, hydrogen, liquid ammonia and mainly by methane.

How planets are classified

The most well-known classification has to do with composition of the planets. According to which there are two types rocky and Jovian, the latter are the gaseous planets.

The rocky planets also known as terrestrial or telluric possess a solid rocky surface, and a high density. These celestial bodies are Mercury, Venus, Earth and Mars, which are closer to the Sun.

There are 4 planets within the classification of jovianos, they are: Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus and Neptune. Also known as the giants of the system are helium and hydrogen and have low density.

Characteristics of the planets of the solar system

The planets are compared and studied according to the behavior of the following characteristics that I will explain briefly:

  • Orbital and axial inclination: the orbital inclination is used as a reference to compare the plane of the earth with that of the other planet. while the axial inclination intervenes in the determination of the climatic seasons of the earth.
  • Perihelion and aphelion: It refers to the measurement of the distance between the sun and the planets. Use as a measure the distance between the earth and the sun called the Astronomical Unit.
  • Sidereal and symbiotic orbital period: period to calculate the movement of other planets taking as a measure the terrestrial days.
  • Average orbital velocity: is an average of speeds expressed in Kilometers traveled in a second

Curiosities of the names of the planets of the solar system

You have not asked yourself where your name comes from or what it means, your parents must have had some reason to choose it. In the same way the names of the planets were not placed at random. Each one has a meaning or represents some god of the Greek or Roman mythologies.

  • In the case of Mercury means messenger of the gods.
  • The earth represents the mother of all gods.
  • Venus As you know, it is the goddess of love and beauty.
  • Mars represents the god of war
  • Jupiter to the God Zeus creator of the universe.
  • Saturn to the father of Jupiter the God Titan.
  • Uranus For its part, it represents the God of heaven.
  • And the God of the sea represented in Neptuno.

Another curious fact about the names of the planets is that due to them the days of the week were named. On Monday, it owes its name to the Moon, Tuesday for Mars undoubtedly, while Wednesday and Thursday for Mercury and Jupiter. Friday for its part owes the name to the goddess Venus while Saturday to Saturn

Why is Pluto no longer a planet?

Until the 2006 it was considered that Pluto was a planet, for having its size it was degraded to dwarf planet.

Some astronomers do not agree with that decision and continue to study it. Since surface is being renewed all the time with ice and believe have a salty sea below.

Another possibility of getting water in the solar system is mate and a moon of Jupiter called Ganymede. This moon has an ocean of 96 kilometers deep, completely frozen.

Finally, remember that every detail you know about the planets of the solar system It can take you to them. Try to imagine the great things that remain to be discovered of the universe. And do not forget the new things you learned in this article.